Page 1 of 1

GPU Engine

Posted: 26 Jul 2019 09:53
by xul8tr
Add a column to the main process grid for "GPU Engine". This displays which GPU the application is using. Windows Task Manager has this column in the "Processes" tab.

Re: GPU Engine

Posted: 27 Jul 2019 17:54
by viksoftru
Exist's - column name is GPU (current value) and GPU History. Please, customize You column set.

Re: GPU Engine

Posted: 16 Aug 2019 21:29
by David Xanatos
the GPU column shows GPU usage, not the GPU adapter which the process uses. Needed when you ave a laptop with a onboard and a dedicated GPU or a PC with multiple GPU's or a eGPU. etc anyhow, my TaskExplorer has this feature: https://github.com/DavidXanatos/TaskExplorer/releases

Re: GPU Engine

Posted: 17 Aug 2019 06:09
by viksoftru
David Xanatos

I see and test Your program and don't like in work. Cosmetic only, bun no functions...

Re: GPU Engine

Posted: 17 Aug 2019 09:07
by David Xanatos
Well its under development, its not even version 1.0, so some functions are obviously missing.

But those "Cosmetic only" are what brings you the "GPU Adapter" column and many more useful information which other vice would be only very cumbersome to access.

Re: GPU Engine

Posted: 17 Aug 2019 09:35
by viksoftru
David Xanatos

The information displayed is the same, but the way it is displayed is not convenient. In PH, the SI panel was made perfectly, but for now you can see ... the meeting has already ended ... And the rest is very reminiscent of the Ranko-Seko II NPP control panels - everything seems to be out, but go understand what needs attention - the UI is overloaded and it is difficult to work with it. That's why he said "cosmetics, do not like it."

Re: GPU Engine

Posted: 17 Aug 2019 16:12
by David Xanatos
You see, my opinion is the exact opposite, for me the way PH displays the information's is not convenient at all.

I like to see for individual processes which sockets they have open, PH shows me only a global list, not convenient, not convenient at all.
With my tool you just click on the process you are interested in and on the sockets tab (if its not already selected) and voila you get exactly the information you wanted.
No need to manually compare the PID, no need to remember it etc....

And I also like to see what files particular processes are working with right now. PH shows me only a global list made with ETW events, which is missing a lot of entries, or I have to use the handles tab which is hidden in a pop up window, not convenient, not convenient at all.
And the list in the pop up window does not show me the file size or file position, that information's are hidden in yet an other pop up window.
And guess what for me the most convenient way to see what files are being worked on is to sort the files by the position column which TaskExplorer has.
In one or two clicks i get all the data I need, that is what I call convenient.

and btw: process hacker absolutely lacks the ability to sort file handles by position or size, a value hidden in a sub window of a sub window is not sortable by no Mather how hard one may try.
So you see, a different UI concept really brings new capabilities to the user i.e. new features.


Anyhow about taste can not be argued


@dmex
let this be a feature request: please add a position and size column to the handles tab. That would be a major improvement to PH.

Cheers
David X.