Joachim Otahal
Topic Author
Posts: 8
OS: TOS 1.06
Location: GER
Contact:

Display wrong MB/s numbers/graphs version 2.31 to 2.35

Fri May 22, 2015 9:00 am

View either Network graphs, Disk graphs, or the IO column in the process list.
Then change refresh interval from 1s to 5s.
See how you former 100 MB/s (as example) are suddenly 20 MB/s.

I hoped this bug would disappear by it's own since it is so obvious, but yet it didn't.
Ultra HD gaming is low resolution for me. 6k ? 10k ? 15k ? Go http://joumxyzptlk.de
 
User avatar
wj32
Posts: 948
OS: Windows
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Display wrong MB/s numbers/graphs version 2.31 to 2.35

Fri May 22, 2015 9:07 am

Please provide more detailed steps to reproduce. I don't see anything instantly changing when you change the refresh interval.
 
User avatar
viksoftru
Posts: 430
OS: Win7 (Live! DVD), BSD

Re: Display wrong MB/s numbers/graphs version 2.31 to 2.35

Fri May 22, 2015 9:59 am

A Options -> General -> Max.size unit: you leave the default value of "EB"? Change in the "MB" to the scale value become smaller. Scale, you know. :)
 
Joachim Otahal
Topic Author
Posts: 8
OS: TOS 1.06
Location: GER
Contact:

Re: Display wrong MB/s numbers/graphs version 2.31 to 2.35

Fri May 22, 2015 11:12 am

Okay:
I start a copy job which is artificially limited to exactly 30 MB/s.
That looks fine in process hacker.
30 MB_s copy job 1 - Starting with 1s interval.png
Then I switch to 5 s interval, and the numbers go divide by five, but it should stay at 30 MB/s.
30 MB_s copy job 2 - Switch from 1s to 5s interval.png
After a minute it comes close to the real number again.
30 MB_s copy job 3 - After Switch from 1s to 5s interval and wait one minute.png
Then I switch from 5s to 1s interval, and we get about multiply by 5 in the first view, and then it corrects over time.
30 MB_s copy job 4 - Switch from 5s to 1s interval.png
Ultra HD gaming is low resolution for me. 6k ? 10k ? 15k ? Go http://joumxyzptlk.de
 
Joachim Otahal
Topic Author
Posts: 8
OS: TOS 1.06
Location: GER
Contact:

Re: Display wrong MB/s numbers/graphs version 2.31 to 2.35

Fri May 22, 2015 11:18 am

This is somewhat the same using the "system information view".
Although technically not incorrect since it shows "MB per measurement interval" and not "MB per second" (as pointed out with the red arrows) it looks weird.
The red boxes show the part when it is set to 1s interval, the blue box shows when it is set to 5s interval.


This is displaying disk and IO when starting with 5s interval:
30 MB_s copy job System Information Disk 1 - running with 5s interval.png
30 MB_s copy job System Information IO 1 - running with 5s interval.png
And then I switch from 5s interval to 1s interval:
30 MB_s copy job System Information Disk 2 - Switch from 5s to 1s interval.png
30 MB_s copy job System Information IO 2 - Switch from 5s to 1s interval.png
Ultra HD gaming is low resolution for me. 6k ? 10k ? 15k ? Go http://joumxyzptlk.de
 
User avatar
TETYYS
Posts: 463
OS: Win 7 x64

Re: Display wrong MB/s numbers/graphs version 2.31 to 2.35

Fri May 22, 2015 11:21 am

Can confirm, 1s -> 0.5s, also, duobles the values.
 
User avatar
wj32
Posts: 948
OS: Windows
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Display wrong MB/s numbers/graphs version 2.31 to 2.35

Fri May 22, 2015 11:34 am

The Disk tab number is a problem, but the System Information numbers are correct.
 
Joachim Otahal
Topic Author
Posts: 8
OS: TOS 1.06
Location: GER
Contact:

Re: Display wrong MB/s numbers/graphs version 2.31 to 2.35

Fri May 22, 2015 11:41 am

The Disk tab number is a problem, but the System Information numbers are correct.
Could we (optionally?) have MB/Second instead of MB/Interval in System Information? Don't remove the MB/Interval display, it makes sense in a lot of cases.
Ultra HD gaming is low resolution for me. 6k ? 10k ? 15k ? Go http://joumxyzptlk.de
 
Joachim Otahal
Topic Author
Posts: 8
OS: TOS 1.06
Location: GER
Contact:

Re: Display wrong MB/s numbers/graphs version 2.31 to 2.35

Fri May 22, 2015 11:45 am

PS: Version 2.31 2.32 and 2.33 had the same bug for "Processes" looking at the "I/O" tab, but 2.34 and 2.35 are doing it right.
Ultra HD gaming is low resolution for me. 6k ? 10k ? 15k ? Go http://joumxyzptlk.de
 
Joachim Otahal
Topic Author
Posts: 8
OS: TOS 1.06
Location: GER
Contact:

Re: Display wrong MB/s numbers/graphs version 2.31 to 2.35 - now 2.36 too!

Thu Jul 16, 2015 2:47 pm

Not fixed in 2.36 AAAAAWW!
Ultra HD gaming is low resolution for me. 6k ? 10k ? 15k ? Go http://joumxyzptlk.de
 
User avatar
LindaAthena
Posts: 71
OS: win7-64bit + SuSE Linux(x64)

Re: Display wrong MB/s numbers/graphs version 2.31 to 2.35

Fri Sep 23, 2016 4:51 am

Reminds me of the CPU% changing when you look at same program on machines with different #'s of cores.
Problem is that with more cores, more processes show no cpu usage (you can see an indicator if you turn on option to see processes using less than .01%), but that doesn't tell you much and looks noisy. *sigh*

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests