Scoox
Topic Author
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 7 64bit

Process filter broken in Windows 10

Tue Jun 28, 2016 7:28 pm

Windows 10 64-bit Professional
Intel Core i7-6700K @ 4.00GHz, 32 GB RAM

I don't know if this is specific to my system but when I use the filter box in the top-left corner, Process Hacker displays processes that do not contain the filter string. In the example below, the search string is "anki" and the process list contains anki.exe (correct) and also mspaint.exe (incorrect):

Image

Thank you! :)
 
User avatar
viksoftru
Posts: 418
OS: Win7 (Live! DVD), BSD

Re: Process filter broken in Windwos 10

Wed Jun 29, 2016 8:47 am

Yes, on Win 7 SP1 I also see this bug: select template "svc", but found process name is (duplicate name is removed) list:

svchost.exe - Ok!
nvvsvc.exe - Ok!
SkypeC2CAutoUpdateSvc.exe - Ok!
SkypeC2CPNRSvc.exe - Ok!
Everything.exe - Error!
IpOverUsbSvc.exe - Ok!
NvStreamService.exe - Error!
NvStreamNetworkService.exe - Error!
wmpnetwk.exe - Error!


Possible PCRE realization bug?
 
Scoox
Topic Author
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 7 64bit

Re: Process filter broken in Windwos 10

Wed Jun 29, 2016 8:53 am

Viksoftru, it's funny becuase I never noticed this on Win 7. Is it possible that you have UAC enabled?
 
User avatar
viksoftru
Posts: 418
OS: Win7 (Live! DVD), BSD

Re: Process filter broken in Windwos 10

Wed Jun 29, 2016 9:04 am

I have UAC turned off. Unnecessary processes can be complete without it, for example by means of nnCron or simply banning them from running through access binary executable (chmod 644 <filename>), etc. ...
 
Scoox
Topic Author
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 7 64bit

Re: Process filter broken in Windwos 10

Wed Jun 29, 2016 10:13 am

I'm not sure I understand, but anyway this is strange
 
User avatar
viksoftru
Posts: 418
OS: Win7 (Live! DVD), BSD

Re: Process filter broken in Windwos 10

Wed Jun 29, 2016 10:16 am

To that familiar. :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests