Process Hacker and Windows discussion

 
scorpion007
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 06:56

Inline code bbcode?

03 Feb 2011 09:52

Is there something I can use for inline code? I.e. without a whole block-level element? But inline with text? E.g. the <tt> or <code> tag without a whole div.
 
User avatar
dmex
Admin
Posts: 1555
Joined: 17 Jan 2011 05:43
Location: Australia

Re: Inline code bbcode?

03 Feb 2011 09:59

Yes ;)
[inline] Inline Text [/inline]
Inline Text

wj32 also uses the P bbcode:
[p] Inline Text [/p]

Inline Text

 
scorpion007
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 06:56

Re: Inline code bbcode?

03 Feb 2011 10:05

hello world foo

ah, cool! Could you make the font a bit bigger though? (Relative to the text around it, that is)

Ideally though, as information theory would suggest, making the bbcode shorter for such a common bbcode would be nice :)

Perhaps: 'tt' (corresponding to the html tag name) or similar.

BTW, 'p' doesn't seem to use a monospace font though..
Last edited by scorpion007 on 03 Feb 2011 10:10, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
dmex
Admin
Posts: 1555
Joined: 17 Jan 2011 05:43
Location: Australia

Re: Inline code bbcode?

03 Feb 2011 10:25

hello world foo

ah, cool! Could you make the font a bit bigger though? (Relative to the text around it, that is)

Ideally though, as information theory would suggest, making the bbcode shorter for such a common bbcode would be nice :)

Perhaps: 'tt' (corresponding to the html tag name) or similar.

BTW, 'p' doesn't seem to use a monospace font though..
Odd enough, there is no class defined for inline that I can adjust for how it looks, I'm surrprised it works at all :? you can use the [size] tags however ;)
[size=140][inline]world[/inline][/size]
world

The bbcode was just [c] until I added the syntax parser, wj32 also wants it shorter so I'll see what I can do, the p bbcode just happens to use the HTML <p> Tag used for defining a paragraph ;)
 
scorpion007
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 06:56

Re: Inline code bbcode?

03 Feb 2011 10:40

hello

world

foo

As I suspected. P won't do, since P isn't an inline element, but a block-level element. (Aside from not being designed for code).

Wouldn't it be fairly simple to add a short tag like 'tt' or something that expands to <tt> or <code> in phpBB's configuration?
 
User avatar
dmex
Admin
Posts: 1555
Joined: 17 Jan 2011 05:43
Location: Australia

Re: Inline code bbcode?

03 Feb 2011 10:50

hello

world

foo

As I suspected. P won't do, since P isn't an inline element, but a block-level element. (Aside from not being designed for code).

Wouldn't it be fairly simple to add a short tag like 'tt' or something that expands to <tt> or <code> in phpBB's configuration?
Done ;)

[php]word[/php]
[size=150][tt]word[/tt][/size]
word

Btw, since you'll probably ask evetually, Yes I'm going to evetually add a WYSIWYG post editor :p:
 
scorpion007
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 06:56

Re: Inline code bbcode?

03 Feb 2011 11:35

hello world.

Hmm.. still same size as before. But thanks for the shorthand 'tt' tag! (Could you tweak the CSS for that class?)
Btw, since you'll probably ask evetually, Yes I'm going to evetually add a WYSIWYG post editor
Actually, I rather *not* have a WYSIWYG. They make me sick. They break all my formatting, and are far more trouble than they're worth to get right and debug (for you, the developer). I'd rather what we have now, i.e. the buttons on the top of the editor with shortcuts for common tags. I'd probably only add a button for 'tt' to that toolbar.

But I'd be strongly against a rich-text editor. Keep it like Wikipedia, StackOverflow, etc. :)
 
User avatar
dmex
Admin
Posts: 1555
Joined: 17 Jan 2011 05:43
Location: Australia

Re: Inline code bbcode?

03 Feb 2011 12:17

hello world.

Hmm.. still same size as before. But thanks for the shorthand 'tt' tag! (Could you tweak the CSS for that class?)
Btw, since you'll probably ask evetually, Yes I'm going to evetually add a WYSIWYG post editor
Actually, I rather *not* have a WYSIWYG. They make me sick. They break all my formatting, and are far more trouble than they're worth to get right and debug (for you, the developer). I'd rather what we have now, i.e. the buttons on the top of the editor with shortcuts for common tags. I'd probably only add a button for 'tt' to that toolbar.

But I'd be strongly against a rich-text editor. Keep it like Wikipedia, StackOverflow, etc. :)
You need the [size=number] tag around the code like so: ;)
[size=150][tt]word[/tt][/size]
word

Im leaving the editor for now, the one Im thinking about has a button to disable it though... I'll also add some of the bbcodes to the toolbar ;)
 
scorpion007
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 06:56

Re: Inline code bbcode?

03 Feb 2011 13:36

You need the [size=number] tag around the code like so
Yes, but shouldn't the default be a suitable size? I think the default is too small, compared to the surrounding default text.
 
User avatar
dmex
Admin
Posts: 1555
Joined: 17 Jan 2011 05:43
Location: Australia

Re: Inline code bbcode?

03 Feb 2011 18:59

You need the [size=number] tag around the code like so
Yes, but shouldn't the default be a suitable size? I think the default is too small, compared to the surrounding default text.
Thats what I said before, there is no class defined for the 'inline' class that I can adjust for how it looks, I'm surrprised it works at all.. I'll see what I can do nonetheless ;)
 
scorpion007
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 06:56

Re: Inline code bbcode?

03 Feb 2011 23:10

Oh ok -- but the bbcode needn't expand to 'inline', it could expand to any inline element you like and (I presume) phpBB should let you edit the CSS corresponding to it. Also, if there's no existing CSS class "inline", then couldn't you define one as you like?
 
User avatar
dmex
Admin
Posts: 1555
Joined: 17 Jan 2011 05:43
Location: Australia

Re: Inline code bbcode?

03 Feb 2011 23:19

if there's no existing CSS class "inline", then couldn't you define one as you like?
Thats the plan ;)

I've just been a bit busy fixing things since Sourceforge got hacked and shutdown shell access this last week, Btw this is also why you you wont get e-mail notifications till sometime next week :cry:

SF staff have given me a shell to use for a few hours to get a few things fixed, I'm just working on a new Forum image and some other mods, If theres anything you want done or added now would be the time to ask otherwise I wont have shell access again for a few days :x
 
scorpion007
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 06:56

Re: Inline code bbcode?

04 Feb 2011 06:05

Ah I see.

I always thought it's possible to edit the CSS and related stuff without shell access though, just via the control panel that phpBB offers?
 
User avatar
dmex
Admin
Posts: 1555
Joined: 17 Jan 2011 05:43
Location: Australia

Re: Inline code bbcode?

05 Feb 2011 03:04

Ah I see.

I always thought it's possible to edit the CSS and related stuff without shell access though, just via the control panel that phpBB offers?
I need access to the files themselfs which can only be done via the shell, bbcodes I can do via the ACP (admin cp) since their just a code and html, while css and functions used by the forum are parsed via the code itself ;)

take the orange Share button at the top right of each page as an example, I needed to include and modify the themes to include it ;)

I'll keep working on it, my html is not good :lol:
 
scorpion007
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 06:56

Re: Inline code bbcode?

08 Feb 2011 01:09

Oh, I see. I've used the ACP of vBulletin in the past, and it offered a way to change the "templates" right inside the web UI. I assumed phpBB did the same. Guess not :)