Process Hacker Discussion Forum

 
Eran
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 15 Mar 2015 16:30
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

02 Jun 2015 17:02

I added Process Hacker to the anti-virus exclusion list and the CPU usage remained 1% every refresh. It goes back to 0 when I close Process Hacker, so it doesn't seem that another program is accessing services.exe. But any way, I'm fine with 1-2% considering all the cool features that Process Hacker offers :)

Why do you recommend not to use an anti-virus (in my case I have to use it because of a company policy)? Why especially on x64?
 
User avatar
TETYYS
Contributor
Posts: 515
Joined: 23 Apr 2013 10:37
OS: Win 10 x64

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

03 Jun 2015 20:30

Anti-viruses in general are just worthless piece of crap. New malware can slip through it so there's no point in using them considering that they use more resources than operating system itself. Also, it is worth mentioning that Anti-viruses can contain numerous bugs and exploits (and when you can exploit Windows driver, you're basically toasted), which was proved in the past.
 
User avatar
phuser
Contributor
Posts: 76
Joined: 29 May 2015 06:45
OS: Windows XP, 7 [32, 64]
Contact:

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

04 Jun 2015 05:24

There are other better alternatives & solutions.

Like Using:-

Deep Freeze.


Deep Freeze is a permanent solution for software related things/exploits.


I don't know any solution for hardware exploits which have been widely used by everyone to omit/skip marketing gimmicks done by......... ( you know who i am talking about ).

Hardware exploits are & have been intentionally placed in almost all (you can say all, i won't argue) processors to make the task of exploitation very easy for everyone.

:|
 
Eran
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 15 Mar 2015 16:30
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

09 Jun 2015 15:22

dmex, there's still an issue with the visible count. Sometimes the visible count is one more than the actual count.
In the attached screenshot you can see that I have 179 processes running but visible is set to 180 (I wasn't using any filter).
Image 1.png
Status bar
Image 1.png (1.9 KiB) Viewed 15595 times
The issues is not with the process count because the task manger shows exactly the same number.

Any thoughts?
 
User avatar
dmex
Admin
Posts: 1698
Joined: 17 Jan 2011 05:43

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

09 Jun 2015 15:44

Eran wrote:
I have 179 processes running but visible is set to 180
What makes you think it's incorrect? :P
 
CheckEd
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: 07 Jun 2015 19:39

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

09 Jun 2015 16:44

Eran wrote:
dmex, there's still an issue with the visible count. Sometimes the visible count is one more than the actual count.
In the attached screenshot you can see that I have 179 processes running but visible is set to 180 (I wasn't using any filter).
The issues is not with the process count because the task manger shows exactly the same number.

Any thoughts?
179 processes + Interrupts = 180 visible items...
Last edited by CheckEd on 09 Jun 2015 17:35, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
dmex
Admin
Posts: 1698
Joined: 17 Jan 2011 05:43

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

09 Jun 2015 17:18

CheckEd wrote:
179 processes + Interrupts = 180 visible items...
So if you have 1 process you want a visible count of 0?

Process 1: 0
Process 2: 1
Process 3: 2
Process 4: 3

How is that the correct number of visible items? :?
 
CheckEd
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: 07 Jun 2015 19:39

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

09 Jun 2015 17:32

dmex wrote:
So if you have 1 process you want a visible count of 0?

Process 1: 0
Process 2: 1
Process 3: 2
Process 4: 3

How is that the correct number of visible items?

No, that's right! :lol:
My reply was for Eran :P
 
User avatar
wj32
Founder
Posts: 948
Joined: 17 Jan 2011 05:19
OS: Windows
Contact:

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

09 Jun 2015 23:47

Interrupts isn't a process, but it's visible in the list :P
 
Eran
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 15 Mar 2015 16:30
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

10 Jun 2015 13:08

I didn't know that interrupts are listed as an item in the process tab so I assumed the number of items is equal to the number of processes.
Thanks for the clarifications.
 
Eran
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 15 Mar 2015 16:30
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

10 Jun 2015 17:38

Why are interrupts displayed in the process list?
It seems that the only attribute we display for interrupts is the CPU usage, so why not just add it to the status bar (e.g. "Interrupts CPU: 0.89%")?
 
User avatar
wj32
Founder
Posts: 948
Joined: 17 Jan 2011 05:19
OS: Windows
Contact:

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

16 Jun 2015 16:32

Mainly because Process Explorer does it :P
 
Eran
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 15 Mar 2015 16:30
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

22 Jun 2015 13:28

applejack wrote:
looking forward to the "Visible" field.
a "Selected" field would be nice as well (list number of selected items, e.g. if pressed CTRL+A, Selected value equals visible value).

also, it would be helpful if you listed relevant tab's items count instead of just processes count, or otherwise list all 4 (processes/services/network/disk).

keep up the great work, thanks!
The Selected field sounds like a good suggestion, what do you think?
 
User avatar
dmex
Admin
Posts: 1698
Joined: 17 Jan 2011 05:43

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

22 Jun 2015 14:58

Eran wrote:
The Selected field sounds like a good suggestion, what do you think?
Added in r6134:
ToolStatus_Selected.PNG
ToolStatus_Selected.PNG (1.03 KiB) Viewed 15489 times
 
Eran
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 15 Mar 2015 16:30
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

22 Jun 2015 15:21

Awesome! Thanks dmex :)

Do you have some ETA for an official release that includes both Visible and Selected?
 
User avatar
MagicAndre1981
Member
Posts: 230
Joined: 22 Nov 2011 12:02
OS: Windows 8Pro(x64) with Win7 UI

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

23 Jun 2015 04:28

simply install the Visual Studio 2013 Community Edition which is completely free, checkout the PH code with TortoiseSVN and compile the code with the VS
 
User avatar
dmex
Admin
Posts: 1698
Joined: 17 Jan 2011 05:43

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

23 Jun 2015 05:48

Try this version (Note: You will need to install the Process Hacker Development Version)


EDIT: Removed old version.
Last edited by dmex on 23 Dec 2015 02:51, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed old version.
 
Eran
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 15 Mar 2015 16:30
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

23 Jun 2015 13:36

Thanks dmex, it works fine for me.

I did notice that "Visible" and "Selected" always remain "N/A" on the Disk tab. It doesn't really bother me, since I rarely use the Disk tab, but I was wondering is there something special about that tab that makes it behave differently?
 
User avatar
wj32
Founder
Posts: 948
Joined: 17 Jan 2011 05:19
OS: Windows
Contact:

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

23 Jun 2015 13:43

@dmex: To fix this you can add a callback to TOOLSTATUS_TAB_INFO in plugins/include/toolstatusintf.h called GetTreeNewHandle, and then get ExtendedTools to return the handle to the disk list (and get the statusbar to request the handle).
 
Eran
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 15 Mar 2015 16:30
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit

Re: Status bar + filter enhancements

05 Jul 2015 15:35

Can anyone confirm if the latest release (2.36 r6153) contains "Visible" and "Selected" (it wasn't mentioned in the change log)?