Process Hacker Discussion Forum

 
User avatar
TairikuOkami
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Mar 2016 15:05
OS: Windows 11
Contact:

Numbers instead of graphs in Systray

01 Dec 2017 20:26

Graphs are utterly useless, it is hard to tell, if it shows 1%, 10% or 20%.
Percentage would be way more useful, even real numbers, if possible.

Image
 
User avatar
viksoftru
Member
Posts: 629
Joined: 15 Aug 2011 06:01
OS: Win7 (Live! DVD), BSD

Re: Numbers instead of graphs in Systray

03 Dec 2017 06:19

And how will you look at the numbers there? Into the microscope? :D I do not see the point, especially if there is a mini-window and a window of system information.
 
User avatar
TETYYS
Contributor
Posts: 515
Joined: 23 Apr 2013 10:37
OS: Win 10 x64

Re: Numbers instead of graphs in Systray

06 Dec 2017 21:24

viksoftru wrote: 03 Dec 2017 06:19
And how will you look at the numbers there? Into the microscope? :D I do not see the point, especially if there is a mini-window and a window of system information.
several programs have successfully put numbers into systray icons without any problems.
 
User avatar
viksoftru
Member
Posts: 629
Joined: 15 Aug 2011 06:01
OS: Win7 (Live! DVD), BSD

Re: Numbers instead of graphs in Systray

07 Dec 2017 01:17

I agree, for example Zentimo Storage Manager can display the number of connected devices. The only question is how convenient is it to read? Here's a screenshot with its icon (blue Z):
1.png
1.png (10.72 KiB) Viewed 12041 times
For me it's too shallow that at a visible height of the tray about a centimeter from the 1,5 meter's on a 24 "Full HD display you can see the output figure, although the idea itself is good - you can immediately see how many devices are connected.
 
User avatar
TETYYS
Contributor
Posts: 515
Joined: 23 Apr 2013 10:37
OS: Win 10 x64

Re: Numbers instead of graphs in Systray

11 Dec 2017 19:30

you picked a bad example
 
User avatar
diversenok
Contributor
Posts: 49
Joined: 26 Jun 2017 17:55
OS: Windows 7 x64
Contact:

Re: Numbers instead of graphs in Systray

11 Dec 2017 21:46

Actually, numbers can show more accurate information then graphs (where you can hardly distinguish 10 percents from 20). However, numbers don't show history.
I think this feature can be useful. But then you should have a possibility to change font/background color.
tray-icons.png
tray-icons.png (6.56 KiB) Viewed 11994 times
Here is an example of numbers (like charge and processor temperature) that are quite readable. And also time.
 
User avatar
dmex
Admin
Posts: 1698
Joined: 17 Jan 2011 05:43

Re: Numbers instead of graphs in Systray

19 Jan 2018 21:33

diversenok wrote: 11 Dec 2017 21:46
But then you should have a possibility to change font/background color.
I'm still having issues making the background color customizable/transparent (unfortunately) and most system fonts don't scale numbers properly on 16x16 bitmaps.
TairikuOkami wrote: 01 Dec 2017 20:26
Percentage would be way more useful, even real numbers, if possible.
I've added this feature to the nightly build. Open the View menu > Tray icons > Select items ending with (Text) :thumbup:
 
User avatar
dmex
Admin
Posts: 1698
Joined: 17 Jan 2011 05:43

Re: Numbers instead of graphs in Systray

11 Feb 2018 15:27

TairikuOkami wrote: 01 Dec 2017 20:26
Graphs are utterly useless
I added text based graphs in the nightly build but no one has commented on this feature request... I guess they should be removed? :P

Image
 
g0rk
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: 27 Aug 2011 13:30
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit

Re: Numbers instead of graphs in Systray

12 Feb 2018 17:45

Please, don't! =D
I prefer text over simple graph.
The good ones are graph "history", like these used for CPU, IO, Disk, etc, because they give more information about what happened seconds ago.
Simple graphs like these used for RAM are not so useful, because they don't give information about what happened seconds ago, so numbers are great in this case.
 
User avatar
viksoftru
Member
Posts: 629
Joined: 15 Aug 2011 06:01
OS: Win7 (Live! DVD), BSD

Re: Numbers instead of graphs in Systray

13 Feb 2018 02:23

Important is the graph of history that allows you to see the nature of the process in time, and the instantaneous values ​​of this information do not carry, although useful. Let both be.

P.S.

Enough and other people's stupid experience with the entries on the Mozilla Fundation bugtracker - first "Since I do not need additional Gecko functions, they should be thrown out, and add-ons should be compatible with Google Chrome because I believe that it's safe!", And in a couple of months the continuation of " I personally do not need NPF plug-ins and XUL for I use Google Chrome, so they need to be discarded and everyone needs to go to Chromium! " with which the current insanity began with the incompatibility of addons and FF57 and the friendliness to espionage and the hidden installation of advertising - the main claim to Netscape/Mozilla Suite/SeaMonkey was "Ads block and spy on the user!". :)
 
User avatar
diversenok
Contributor
Posts: 49
Joined: 26 Jun 2017 17:55
OS: Windows 7 x64
Contact:

Re: Numbers instead of graphs in Systray

13 Feb 2018 17:05

I use these text-based graphs. :)

However, I have some more suggestion for this feature.

Let's take a look at the current situation:
• Tray Icons menu now looks too overloaded. It should be simplified and structured.
• It is barely believable that someone has enabled more than 4-5 icons. Furthermore, if the user has enabled the history graph, it is unlikely to enable the usage graph and vice versa.
• Both history graphs and text graphs have their own pros and cons. It is better to combine their positive aspects.

So, here is my idea how to put a fine point on it:
Tray-icons-menu.png
Tray-icons-menu.png (5.45 KiB) Viewed 11565 times
In this case, the user will have 5 (!) alternatives for each kind of displayed information that is more than enough to please everyone. To make the overlapping text readable the background can be drawn at half brightness.
text-overlayed-examples.png
text-overlayed-examples.png (9.61 KiB) Viewed 11565 times
What do you think?
 
g0rk
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: 27 Aug 2011 13:30
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit

Re: Numbers instead of graphs in Systray

13 Feb 2018 18:53

diversenok wrote:
What do you think?
This would be awesome.
What do you think, @dmex? =)
dmex wrote:
I added text based graphs in the nightly build but no one has commented on this feature request... I guess they should be removed? :P
Can you add in process list a "Network history" graph like these used for CPU and I/O?

Image

Edit:
There is one more thing. I don't know why, but PH's tray icons not always obey the position we drop them. In the gif below, the 3 first icons are from HWiNFO and the others are from PH. HWiNFO's icons always obey the position they are dropped, but PH's icons don't. It's fixable?
Image
 
keshymarkyz
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: 05 Apr 2018 08:33
Contact:

Re: Numbers instead of graphs in Systray

05 Apr 2018 14:36

IT was those which can mention all of that kind
 
Sander_Bouwhuis
Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 30 Oct 2018 09:40
OS: Win 10 x64

Re: Numbers instead of graphs in Systray

30 Oct 2018 09:44

I am VERY interested in this feature.
How can I get it?
 
User avatar
viksoftru
Member
Posts: 629
Joined: 15 Aug 2011 06:01
OS: Win7 (Live! DVD), BSD

Re: Numbers instead of graphs in Systray

04 Nov 2018 08:38

Use d&d in to try for change icon position.:)
 
User avatar
dmex
Admin
Posts: 1698
Joined: 17 Jan 2011 05:43

Re: Numbers instead of graphs in Systray

04 Nov 2018 18:22

Sander_Bouwhuis wrote: 30 Oct 2018 09:44
I am VERY interested in this feature.
How can I get it?
https://wj32.org/processhacker/nightly.php
 
Sander_Bouwhuis
Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 30 Oct 2018 09:40
OS: Win 10 x64

Re: Numbers instead of graphs in Systray

05 Nov 2018 19:45

Ok. How stable are those builds?
Is a 'real' release close? If it's close, I'd prefer waiting.
I'll give it a go and see how stable it is.

Thanks for the info!

Edit:
I tried Process Hacker v3.0.1975 and it doesn't work. For some very strange reason, I got a Sandboxie notification about 'Out of memory'. Why Sandboxie?!?
Also, I tried running the stable build v2.39.124, but that one didn't work either anymore.
I had to uninstall Process Hacker v3.0.1975 and the restart my computer and then reinstall v2.39.124 to get things working again.

Did I do something wrong?
 
User avatar
dmex
Admin
Posts: 1698
Joined: 17 Jan 2011 05:43

Re: Numbers instead of graphs in Systray

06 Apr 2019 16:58

g0rk wrote: 13 Feb 2018 18:53
PH's tray icons not always obey the position we drop them.
Fixed in latest nightly build :thumbup: